AMHA Announces 2018 Award Winners

December 17th, 2018

The AMHA Awards Committee is pleased to announce the following individuals will be recognized at its Annual Convention, which will take place February 7-9, 2019 in San Antonio, Texas.

Congratulations to all!

Inducted into AMHA's Hall of Fame is Steve Davis of Vermont.

The Breeders' Hall of Fame honors breeders who have produced Morgans that have had a significant impact on the breed. This year's honorees are Couser Creek Ranch in California, Whispering Hill Morgan Farm of Massachusetts, and HRH Stables of Pennsylvania will be entered in posthumously.

The Person of the Year Award honors the individual who has made exceptional contributions to the support and preservation of the Morgan breed and/or AMHA. This year's honoree is John Lampropoulos of New Hampshire.

Inducted into the Show Horse Hall of Fame this year are Beamington, Dragonsmeade Icon, and Equinox Bossanova GCH.

Bob Kellert and Mary Cockriel of Colorado have been selected by their peers as the recipient of the Professional Horseman of the Year Award.

The Golden Reins Award is given to Morgan professionals who have had a 30-year career in training or instruction. Jeff Bessey of New York, John Hufferd of Indiana, Anne Judd of Florida, and Jim and Jenny Taylor of Ohio are this year's recipients.

Mallory Mignot of Oklahoma is the recipient of the Cecil Brown Memorial Sportsmanship Award for her exemplary sportsmanship in and out of the show ring.

Gayle and Byron Singer of Arizona will be honored with the Dr. Albert Lucine Promoter Award for their many years of going above and beyond in breed promotion.

Alicia Owens of Pennsylvania will be honored for her breed promotion and outreach with the Young Person Award.

One Morgan will receive special recognition for his work with people with disabilities. This year's honoree is Clear Springs Beausoleil, a therapy horse at Furnace Brook Farm in Massachusetts.

Monica Hammond will receive the Morgan International Competition Award for her promotion of the breed in Australia.

Andy Illes of Massachusetts is the recipient of the 2018 Mabel Owen Media Award for her her body of work photographing Morgan horses and their people.

The AMHA Annual Convention will take place February 7-9, 2019 at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa in San Antonio, Texas. For more information on room rates and Convention details, please go to AMHA Convention

Custom Responsive Web Design by Propeller Media Works