Mike Goebig Nominated for 2019 USEF Equestrian of Honor

December 19th, 2019

(Photo by Shane Shiflet)

US Equestrian is pleased to announce that Morgan trainer Mike Goebig is a nominee for the 2019 Equestrian of Honor award. For the first time, an International Equestrian of the Year and a National Equestrian of the Year will be named for their achievements in 2019. Winners are determined based on the results of online voting, which is now open through Thursday, January 2, 2020, at midnight. There are ten 2019 Equestrians of Honor nominated.

The 2019 International and National Equestrians of the Year will be awarded on January 10, 2020, during the 2019 Pegasus Awards presented by Adequan® at the US Equestrian Annual Meeting in West Palm Beach, Fla. US Equestrian’s Pegasus Awards honor some of the great men and women of equestrian sport.

Mike is the recipient of the C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy, which is presented to an equestrian competing under saddle in a non-hunter and/or non-Western discipline. When he took a victory pass on the Morgan mare Carol Dawson CH in the Morgan Park Saddle World Championship at the 2019 Grand National & World Championship Horse Show®, he set a record, making Morgan history by having won the prestigious title seven times, more than any other horseman in the event’s 46-year history.

Mike is a horseman’s horseman, and his patience and tenacity, as well as his unique art as a saddle seat rider, have put him at the forefront of this discipline. In 2019, he also took a victory lap at the New England Regional Morgan Horse Show, the oldest competitive event for the Morgan breed, with Carol Dawson CH—his ninth career Morgan Park Saddle Championship. That record is beaten only by the legendary Johnny Lydon, the horseman Goebig frequently refers to as his mentor. Goebig himself has been a mentor to many, with expertise that is often imitated but rarely equaled.

To see the other Equestrian of Honor nominees and to place your vote, go to Vote Now