AMHA Honors 2019 Award Winners

February 4th, 2020

The AMHA honored its 2019 Award Winners at several luncheons and galas during its 2020 Annual Convention. This year, our convention was held in conjunction with the UPHA Annual Convention at the lovely Marriott Griffin Gate in Lexington, Kentucky, January 22 through 25.

At the memberhip meeting AMHA honored our outgoing Board President, Mari Sanderson, with a special Morgan Statue and a great round of applause.

At the Thursday combined luncheon:
Jim and Jenny Taylor (OH) - Professional Horseman of the Year Award
Stacy Hennessy (CA) - The Cecil Brown Memorial Sportsmanship Award

At the Thursday Evening Gala:
Denny Emerson (VT) - Dr. Albert Lucine Promoter Award
Rick Lane (ME) - Person of the Year Award

At, the sold-out Saturday AMHA Awards Luncheon:
EF Star Performer (PA) - Therapy Horse of the Year (Bianca Lyn Gaeta)
Opies Boy (SC) - AMHA Show Horse Hall of Fame (Cindy Nord)
PVF Peace Of Mind (NJ) - AMHA Show Horse Hall of Fame (Suzy Stafford)
Treble's Tanqueray GCH (VT) - AMHA Show Horse Hall of Fame (Greg & Carol Fleck)
Josie Davis (VT) – Golden Reins
Nancy Flower (OH) – Golden Reins
Robert Hughes (KY) – Golden Reins
Laura Behning (GA) - 2019 Mabel Owen Media Award
Greg Lyons (Australia) - Morgan International Competition Award
Amanda Hill (MA) - Young Person Award

Star Award Winners:
Superbad GCH - Park Division Champion (Malcolm & Janice Rhodes)
MEM First Bell – Park Saddle Champion (Susie Kleines)
Superbad GCH – Park Harness Champion (Malcolm & Janice Rhodes)
Catch The Moon – Pleasure Division Champion (Jean Morgan and Anne Morgan-Flynt)
Catch The Moon – English Pleasure Champion (Jean Morgan and Anne Morgan-Flynt)
Springmill Splish Splash – Pleasure Driving Champion (Albert Garner)
Clayhill Affirmative CH – Classic Pleasure Saddle Champion (GW Morgans, LLC)
Fox Hollow Talk About Me GCH – Classic Pleasure Driving (Cheryl Ricci)
Gulfwind To The Max GCH – Hunter/Western Division Champion (Rosemary Roberts)
Mt Pleasant Echos Quality GCH – Hunter Pleasure Champion (Megan Lesperence)
Gulfwind To The Max GCH – Western Pleasure (Rosemary Roberts)
Queen’s Sebastian – In-Hand Division Champion (Erin Duffy Kelley)
Queen’s Sebastian – Stallion In-Hand Champion (Erin Duffy Kelley)
Stellaluna – Mare In-Hand Champion (Megan & Nick Fischback)
Ancient Oracle – Gelding In-Hand Champion (Tara Farm LLC)
Three Fates Cheiron – Sport Division Champion (Lori Kompanik Sargeant)
San Andreas Bay – Carriage Champion (Andrea & Douglas Coursey)
C-My Gunner – Dressage Champion (Tricia Waclena)
CBMF Shimmer GCH – Over Fences Champion (Deanna Levesque)
Suntime Legally Blond – Ranch Champion (Drs. Ray & Alison Bendele)
CAUM May Flower – Reining Champion (Gary Valade & Vallys Pilliod)
BLF Mission Impossible GCH – Trail Champion (Kathy Carlson)
Three Fates Cheiron – Western Dressage Champion (Lori Kompanik Sargeant)

USEF Morgan Judges (recognized for their years of service):
John Bennett (25 years)
Phillip Fountain (25 years)
John McDonald (25 years)
Todd Trushel (25 years)
Cindy Mugnier (30 years)
Peggy Alderman (40 years)
Gayle Lampe (40 years)

A special “thank you” award was presented to our outgoing Director, Carol Fletcher, for her outstanding service to AMHA from 2006 through 2019.

And, at the finale, the Saturday Evening Gala:
Fortune Morgans – Gerald & Peggy Hatfield (KS) - Breeders' Hall of Fame
Judy Nason (NH) - AMHA Hall of Fame.

Please be sure to read more about the Convention and these fine honorees in the March issue of The Morgan Horse magazine.

In addition, the UPHA honored many AMHA members and horses throughout the week. To see the complete list, please visit:

Congratulations to all! Thank you for your dedication to our Morgan Horse!