Skip to Main Content
Morgan standing in a foggy field

Nominate Your Morgan Hero--Deadline Nov. 1

October 25, 2017

AMHA members who would like to nominate a Morgan person who has helped to make the breed great are due to the AMHA office by November 1. AMHA members can nominate their Morgan hero or heroine for a number of special year-end awards. All AMHA awards are based on nominations made by AMHA members.

The 2018 AMHA Convention will take place February 15-17 in Lexington, Kentucky.  Awards to be presented at the annual awards banquet include:

•    "Person of the Year." This award recognizes the individual(s) who, in the past five years, have made particularly exceptional contributions to the support and preservation of the Morgan breed and/or AMHA.  

•    The "AMHA Young Person Award" honors one young person (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated breed promotion and outreach through participation in events, committees, or clubs, and has noted achievements with Morgans in or out of the show ring. The nominee will also have exhibited positive personal characteristics and sportsmanship and inspired others. Nominees must be a current AMHA member.

•    The Dr. Albert Lucine Promoter Award is given to an individual, group, or farm that goes above and beyond to promote the Morgan breed, this award recognizes an individual who exemplifies volunteerism throughout the Morgan horse world. It is an individual who volunteers his or her time on a local or regional level, as well as stepping up on the national level. This is an individual who has shown a penchant for volunteering, and will do anything to promote and support activities involving Morgan horses and their people.

Other awards include the AMHA Hall of Fame, AMHA Breeders' Hall of Fame, Cecil R. Brown Memorial Sportsmanship Award, and Show Horse Hall of Fame, among others. Go to AMHA Honors to see the various awards that are offered and to download a nomination form. Nominations must include a summary of the nominee’s accomplishments relevant to the type of award.

Watch for more Convention updates!