Skip to Main Content

AMHA Members Presented With USEF Honors at the 2024 US Equestrian Annual Meeting

February 6, 2024

[Lexington, Kentucky] - The United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) held its US Equestrian Annual Meeting and Awards January 12-14 at the Omni Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky. This year’s theme was “Our Future Is Now”, bringing both leaders and members together to discuss the ever-changing operations of the equine industry.

Recognizing the industry’s most notable and committed equestrians during the Pegasus Awards Celebration, USEF recognized many individuals with high honors, including several members of the American Morgan Horse Association (AMHA). 

Each year, USEF recognizes individuals who have excelled amongst their peers in demonstrating sportsmanship, showing a high level of commitment, and mirroring the principles, vision, and mission of USEF as USEF Equestrians of Honor, one of the most prestigious honors an individual can receive in the equestrian sport. This year, two AMHA members were named as 2023 USEF Equestrians of Honor: Shanna Gish and Tim Roesink. Shanna Gish was presented with the C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy - given to an equestrian competing under saddle in a non-hunter and/or non-western discipline. Tim Roesink was presented with the Norman K. Dunn Trophy – given to an equestrian competing in national in-hand/halter divisions. 

Not only does USEF honor the individuals, but it also honors the horses with USEF Horses of Honor recognition. USEF honors those that have held a distinguished competition record in the current year, having won at least once in a top-ranked USEF-licensed or FEI competition. VL Todd Michael, owned by Leslie Kelley, was recognized as one of the 2023 USEF Horses of Honor

A few other AMHA members were presented with the Pegasus Award during the Awards Celebration:

The Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders’ Cup Award is presented to an individual or breeding enterprise who produces exceptional performance and show horses year to year. AMHA’s Dragonsmeade Farm was the proud recipient of this award for the 2023 year as they understand the important role that quality breeding plays in the development of performance horses and continuously work to produce quality.

The Pegasus Medal of Honor was created to acknowledge and show appreciation for those individuals who show immense dedication, support, and service to horses and to the sport. This year, two of AMHA’s members were presented with the Pegasus Medal of Honor: C.A. “Tony” Lee III and Karen Homer-Brown. Both individuals excel in their efforts to promote and perpetuate the breed and the sport. 

AMHA is thrilled to recognize each of these individuals and horses for these distinguished honors as their accomplishments are achieved through great dedication and passion. 

To read more about the 2023 USEF Awards, visit the USEF website.