AMHA Annual Awards

Every industry rewards individuals who make history through their contributions. The Morgan horse industry is pleased to be able to do so.

To recognize those who have helped make the breed great, AMHA members can nominate their Morgan heroes and heroines for a number of special awards. All AMHA awards are based on nominations made by AMHA members

**2023 Nominations have closed. Thank you to all who particpated, and congratulations to our 2023 award winners!


Award Descriptions


Hall of Fame Award
The AMHA Hall of Fame Award, introduced in 1985, annually recognizes up to two people who have given long-term support to the Morgan Breed.  The AMHA Hall of Fame Award has seen some outstanding individuals selected for their lifetime achievements.  See a list of the past recipients

Breeders Hall of Fame Award
Established in 2004, the AMHA Breeders Hall of Fame award is given to up to three Morgan breeders who have produced Morgans that have had a significant impact on the breed. See a list of the past recipients

Show Horse Hall of Fame Award
Established in 2008, the AMHA Show Horse Hall of Fame award is given to up to three registered Morgans of outstanding caliber that meet the criteria of being retired from competition having earned three or more World Championship titles at the Grand National & World Championship Morgan Horse Show or having won numerous titles at the highest level of their discipline(s). See a list of the past recipients


Person(s) of the Year Award
The Person(s) of the Year awards. Some of the best-known people in the Morgan breed have been recognized. The award recognizes the individual(s) who, in the past five years, have made particularly exceptional contributions to the support and preservation of the Morgan breed and/or AMHA. See a list of the past recipients


C.A. "Tony" Lee, III Above and Beyond Award

Established in 2023, the AMHA Above and Beyond Award is named for C.A. "Tony" Lee, III.  Tony has set the gold standard for years on what it looks like to give selflessly for the betterment of the Morgan horse.  This award recognizes volunteers in our industry that go above and beyond by repeatedly donating time, effort and resources serving in governance capacitities such as the AMHA Board of Directors, the AMHECT Board of Trustees, or the various AMHA & MGN Committees.  These are the individuals that work countless volunteer hours, travel away from work and family, and spend their own money to serve on these committees and/or boards over long periods of time - all for the good of the Morgan horse.  Nominations can include individuals currently serving on Boards and Committees as well as Emeriti of the same.  This award is only given out in years that a person truly rises to the top to be recognized. See a list of the past recipients


Golden Reins Award
Instituted in 1995, the Golden Reins Award recognizes professionals who have been involved with the Morgan breed for at least 30 years. Active or retired trainers and instructors who have made a lasting impact on the breed on a daily basis through their dedication to working with horses and riders are eligible for nomination. See a list of the past recipients


Cecil R. Brown Memorial Sportsmanship Award
In 1993, the Cecil Brown Sportsmanship Award was added to the AMHA's list of special awards. This award is only given out in years when there is a special person who stands apart from all others. It recognizes an individual who exemplifies sportsmanship in and out of the ring during horse show competition. This award gives the show industry an opportunity to recognize the people who make Morgan competition a pleasure for all. See a list of the past recipients


The Professional Horseman Award
Nominated and chosen by their professional peers, awarded yearly to the professional who supports and promotes the Morgan breed and volunteers time to mentor personally and through clinics raising the standard of training and education within the breed. Most of all, through longevity and success, this professional encompasses in every sense “Horseman.” The professional must be a member in good standing with the AMHA and a member of USEF with professional status. See a list of the past recipients

Dr. Albert Lucine Promoter Award
This award is given to an individual, group, or farm that goes above and beyond to promote the Morgan breed. This award recognizes an individual who exemplifies volunteerism throughout the Morgan horse world. It is an individual who volunteers his or her time on a local or regional level, as well as stepping up on the national level. This is an individual who has shown a penchant for volunteering, and will do anything to promote and support activities involving Morgan horses and their people. It also is someone whose time carries over into other equine organizations, representing the interests of the Morgan breed. Obviously, this individual is very passionate about all things Morgan. To be given when truly deserved. See a list of the past recipients


AMHA Young Person Award
This award honors one young person (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated breed promotion and outreach through participation in events, committees, or clubs, and has noted achievements with Morgans in or out of the show ring. The nominee will also have exhibited positive personal characteristics and sportsmanship and inspired others. Nominees must be a current AMHA member. See a list of the past recipients

Mabel Owen Media Award
The Mabel Owen Media Award has been established to recognize a person or group in the media (written, photographic, print, video, electronic) with a documented body of work that has contributed above and beyond in providing content, adding to the public's ability to learn about, enjoy, and record for posterity activities involving the Morgan horse.  Nominations must include samples from that body of work.  Final selections are made by the staff of The Morgan Horse magazine.  Award is not necessarily made annually.  See a list of the past recipients

Morgan International Competition Award
In 1997, AMHA introduced this award, which is presented only when a person is identified who has gone the extra mile to introduce the Morgan breed in other countries. See a list of the past recipients

Therapy Horse Award
Know of an outstanding Morgan? One who has contributed above and beyond expectations as a therapy horse? If so, it may be eligible for the AMHA Therapy Horse Award. The Morgan may be part of a recognized therapeutic riding program or ridden by a handicapped individual on a regular basis. This Morgan may be owned by the individuals who benefit by working with it and must be active to win the award title. See a list of the past recipients